Author Madness

2015 Author Madness Bracket - Round 2 winners
Contest entry is closed. Brackets were due by 9pm on Wednesday, March 25.

Follow us here or on Facebook and Twitter to find out the winners of each matchup. Author champion and bracket winner announced on April 7.

Author Madness Tournament:

First round, March 26:

Gayle Forman v. RAINBOW ROWELL

Rainbow Rowell and Gayle Forman are both top YA authors. Forman's most well known work, If I Stay, has been made into a movie and Rainbow Rowell has been earning praise and awards from her fellow YA authors, readers, and librarians. Ultimately though, Rowell holds the trump card. Her next novel, Carry On (out this Oct.), is fanfiction of a series that she made up for her novel, Fangirl. Originally only portions of the story, as written by Rowell's character Cath, appeared in Fangirl, but readers loved it so much it's becoming its own book! Rowell is literally writing a reimagined version of a story she made up within another story. That's some super hero authoring right there. Decision, Rainbow, but props to Gayle Forman for also being a pretty fab author. Check out both ladies' books at the library!


Andy Weir’s runaway best seller The Martian has spent over 20 weeks on the New York Times Best Seller list, has already been optioned for a Hollywood movie and is a fast paced, fascinating thriller. Octavia Butler’s MANY books (11 novels and numerous short stories) have never been made into movies and have not sold as well as the The Martian.  However, Butler was the first science fiction writer to receive a MacArthur Genius Award and most of her science fiction novels feature an African-American woman as the main character. Her lasting and significant contributions to the genre of Science Fiction writing make her our winner!


This is the match up of the Indiana titans. John Green was born in Indianapolis but was raised elsewhere. He is the bestselling author of wildly popular young adult books, including The Fault in Our Stars. Michael Koryta is not only a native Hoosier, but is a hometown boy, raised in Bloomington and a graduate of IU. He has written numerous best sellers, both crime fiction and supernatural novels, including a scene set in Nicks English Hut in So Cold the River. This is an easy pick—we have to go with our hometown hero, Michael Koryta, not just because he’s from Bloomington, but also because his books are amazing.

Karen Kingsbury v. JAMES PATTERSON

Both these authors sail in the commercial heavy-weight category, and although Patterson certainly wins in the touch guy strike down villains category, Kingsbury floats through fiction with a legion of angels at her side, and who can discount angels? Yet the great bard said, “What’s in a name?” And alas, roses may be roses but a name counts for a lot: think Rockefeller, think Clinton, think Anheuser-Busch.  On first take the name “Kingsbury” seems impossible to beat, even for a woman who can never be king. But alas the second syllable “bury” could either refer to a messy fruit surrounded by pickers and later plopped indecorously by birds onto the sidewalk or it might come from the German buhr meaning peasant. Therefore, I duly declare Patterson, whose name means son of Patrick, the great saint of the Greenest Isle, as the winner for having a name fit for any good man fighting evil. Therefore we leave Kingsbury to shimmer in the dust of angels, divorced from the silly games and conceits of humans.

First round, March 27:

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie v. Haruki Murakami
John Darnielle v. Chuck Palahniuk
Edwidge Danticat v. Donna Tartt
Kazuo Ishiguro v. George R. R. Martin

Second round/Elite Eight (March 28 & 29)

Final Four (April 4)

Championship (April 6)


Author Madness Rules:

Welcome to Monroe County Public Library’s 2nd annual #AuthorMadness

  • Deadline to submit your bracket was 9:00 pm on March 25, 2015.
  • Printed brackets should be filled out and submitted to any Library desk. You must include your name and email address (or phone number.)
  • Enter online via Twitter by taking a photo of your bracket and posting it with the hash tag #AuthorMadness.
  • One submission per person.
  • Library staff will select the winners of each head-to-head author matchup. Decisions are arbitrary and final.
  • Library staff cannot enter the Author Madness contest.


  • Round 1: 1 point per correct pick
  • Round 2: 2 points per correct pick
  • Round 3: 4 points per correct pick
  • Championship Round: 8 points for correct pick


  • The thrill of winning it all — and a $25 gift certificate to Hopscotch Coffee.
  • Monroe County Public Library staff are not eligible for the prize.
  • In the case of a tie, a drawing will be held to choose the winner.

**Monroe County Public Library’s decision on all issues will be final.**

Good luck!

MCPL_Author-Madness-Bracket_2015.pdf323.31 KB

Javascript is required to view this map.