"Hatchet series" reviewed by Edward on April 30, 2014

Your Name: 
Your Age: 
Book Title: 
Hatchet series   
Paulsen, Gary   
Why did you decide to read this book? Did a friend suggest it? Did it have an interesting cover?: 
I read them because the first book, Hatchet was a Newberry Honor book. I love Newberry Award or Honor books.   
What is the story about?/What happened in the story?: 
The series is basically surviving and going back. Hatchet: Main character Brian's family is divorced; he was going to fly to his father's house from mother's. During the flight, pilot dies of heart attack and plane crash-land. Brian have to survive with his only tool Hatchet what his mom gave to him before the flight. The River: After coming back, government psychologist named Derek comes over to do it again and Derek will take notes to teach other astronauts or other. However, during those time, Derek gets hit by a lightning, leads him to coma. He have to go down 100 miles to the River for Trading Post to save Derek. Brian's Winter: It is a alternate sequel as if what would happen if Brian had not been rescued in book Hatchet. Brian's Return: After surviving in the wilderness, twice, he no longer can fit into society. He goes back to the lake where he survived in Hatchet. Brian's Hunt: Brian finds a wounded dog and the Cree family's house destroyed. Brian sets hunt to kill the bear who have done this.   
Why did you like this story? or Why did you not like this story?: 
I liked the first three books because they had many thrilling surviving story, but other two is not really survival; he carries modern camping tool.   
Rate Your Read: 
Average: 3 (1 vote)