Federal Government

image of United States

The United States Congress

The United States Congress is composed of two parts: the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate represents all states equally with two senators per state (100 senators total); the House of Representatives has 435 representatives with each state’s share being determined by its population. Senators have six-year terms while Representatives have two-year terms. Because members of the House of Representatives have shorter terms they are typically more responsive to their constituents’ concerns than senators. However, Senators are elected on a rotating basis so that one-third of the Senate is up for reelection every two years. Read more about how the Branches of the U.S. Government work

U.S. Senate

The U.S. Senators for Indiana are:

Mike Braun (R) and Todd Young (R)


U.S. House of Representatives

Monroe County is in Indiana's ninth congressional district. The U.S. Representative for this district is Trey Hollingsworth (R).


More Resources and How to Get Involved

Here are some other helpful links to learn more about the United States government: