Local Government

Bloomington Courthouse

Monroe County

Monroe County is one of 92 counties in Indiana. In Monroe County there are 11 townships, one city, two towns, and 38 unincorporated areas. Its estimated population in 2019 was over 148,000 residents. The county is responsible for jails, the court, the sheriff’s office, and corrections. Brad Swain is the current sheriff. Other County departments include Planning, Building, and Highway Departments, Health, Park & Rec, Purdue Extension, Youth Services, and more.

The Monroe County government is overseen by the Board of Commissioners. There are three elected commissioners, one from each of the three county districts. The Board of Commissioners is responsible for handling claims and bids; maintaining county property including county roads; appointing members to boards and committees; and participating as members of the Monroe County Solid Waste Management District.

2023 County Commissioners

  • Lee Jones, Vice President, Represents District 1
  • Julie Thomas, President, Represents District 2
  • Penny Githens, Commissioner, Represents District 3

Residents can apply to join many of the county’s boards, commissions, and committees. Some of these include the Affordable Housing Advisory Commission, Environmental Commission, Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative, Plan Commission, Human Rights Commission, and Substance Use Disorder Community Awareness Commission. The Boards, Commissions, and Committees has a full list of these groups with information about their meetings and a  Board & Commission Application.


  • Monroe County Township map
  • Township assistance might include: emergency shelter, utility, medical, and essentials assistance; fire protection; a food pantry; grocery and prescription deliveries; ambulance service; notary service; unwanted plant complaints; and park maintenance.
  • Monroe County Township Trustees
  • Here are links to each township site (or contact e-mail if a site is unavailable)
    • Bean Blossom: beanblossomtrustee19 [at] gmail.com
    • Benton
    • Bloomington
    • Clear Creek: thelma [at] bluemarble.net
    • Indian Creek: chreynolds812 [at] gmail.com
    • Perry
    • Polk: cspiek [at] bluemarble.net
    • Richland
    • Salt Creek: donnhall403 [at] yahoo.com
    • Van Buren
    • Washington

Monroe County Election Central

Indiana State Library, Collections by County


City of Bloomington

The City of Bloomington is the only city in Monroe County. It has a population of about 85,000 people, which fluctuates with Indiana University’s school year. The city of Bloomington’s government is made up of several departments and divisions including Bloomington Transit, Community and Family Resources, Economic and Sustainable Development, Housing and Neighborhood Development, Parks and Recreation, and Planning and Transportation. For more information about these different departments, visit the City of Bloomington’s Departments.


  • Use uReport to request a city service or to report an issue.

Bloomington and the City Government

  • City of Bloomington
  • Map of City Council districts
  • Boards and commissions and how to apply to join one
  • Bloomington City Council (Common Council):
    • As the legislative body of the City, the Common Council enacts legislation that fosters the health, safety, and welfare of the City; works to represent the interests of residents; and ensures the delivery of municipal services. By statute, the Council is responsible for the control of the City's property and finances, and the appropriation of money (Indiana Code § 36‐4‐6‐18).
    • Meetings are generally held the first four Wednesdays of the month at 6:30 p.m. in Council Chambers, City Hall, 401 N. Morton. Legislation is discussed at Council Committee Meetings. Official actions are taken at Council Meetings (Regular Sessions and Special Sessions). All meetings of the Council and its committees are open to the public.
  • City Council Meeting Schedule/Calendar
  • City council meetings with minutes and agendas
  • City council general email address: council [at] bloomington.in.gov
  • Enter your address into myBloomington in order to find information such as your township, city council district, neighborhood association, residential parking zone, and more.


The Town of Ellettsville

Ellettsville is a town of about 6,300 people that is located in Monroe County about seven miles Northwest of Bloomington. The town government has a town council, a clerk-treasurer, a town manager, a fire department, a planning department, a police department, a utilities department, and an Ellettsville street department.

Ellettsville and the Town Government