This project is part of the Indiana Memory Digital Library and is made possible by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the Library and Services and Technology Act as administered by the Indiana State Library.

Institute of Museum and Library Services  Indiana Memory logo  Indiana State Library

The following individuals contributed time for researching, transcribing, scanning, and indexing and, on top of that, accomplished these tasks within a very short window of time allotted by this unique grant. We are extra grateful for their timely humor and enthusiastic support:

Martha L. Fox, William (Bill) K. Fox, private donors.


Smithville Area Association  

Patricia Robertson, President, Smithville Area Association


Indiana University Libraries 

Lana Buskirk, Shawn Conner, and Lou Malcomb

Special appreciation goes to Douglas H. Sanders, Paper Conservator

Indiana University Digital Library Program

Kara Alexander and Dot Porter

The Monroe County Public Libary

Steve Backs, Cristina Bonini, Cory Burger, Matthew Butler, Nicholae Cline, D'Arcey Danielson, Luann Dillon, Christine Eykholt Friesel, Mita Wilsey Glass, Paula Gray-Overtoom, Margaret Harter, Hilary Hargis, Michael Hoerger, Megan-Marie Johnson, Sara Laughlin, Daniel Pierz, Brandon Rome, Sue Sater, Brenda Seibel, Joanne Thomasen, and Pamela Wasmer.

Friends of the Monroe County Public Library

Helena Walsh and Mary Jean Regoli

The History Center

Diane Ballard, Cory Burger, Hillary Detty, Lee Ehman, Lou Malcomb, Diane Metacale, and Elizabeth Schlemmer.

Indiana State Library

Roberta Booker, Jennifer Clifton, Connie Rendfeld, and Martha J. Ringel


Additional support was provided by the following individuals:

Thelma Jeffries, Connie Shotts, Curt Sylvester, Earl Sexton, and Susan Stern.

Kate Rowold and Kelly Gallett Richardson of IU's Apparel Merchandising & Interior Design, Michael C. Friesel of Framemakers, Angela Godsey of Evansville Bindery, Inc., Kendall Reeves of Spectrum Studios, Rick Applegate of the Indiana State Archives, and Kay Olsen, Smithville Communications, Inc., and Professor Owen Johnson, IU's School of Journalism.