About the Friends of the Library

Mission Statement

The Friends of Monroe County Public Library support the mission, vision, and values of the library. The Friends advocate for Monroe County Public Library and support library collections, services, programs, and staff development.

In the spirit of friendship...

How do you define friendship?
A helping hand? A shoulder to lean on? A steadfast guide and teacher? A library embodies all this—and so much more—to the families and communities it serves.

We are the Friends of the Library (also known as the Monroe County Public Library Foundation). As a nonprofit corporation, we collect and administer the grants, gifts, bequests, and other monies (outside of local tax receipts) that help make the library's many programs such an integral part of our community.

These additional funds help the library buy more books, CDs, movies, and computers.

But that's not all.

We also support some of the community's most cherished programs, including puppet shows, summer reading kits, adult reading workshops, and more.


You can read more about what we do in our

Annual Reports and Newsletters.

Learn about:

The Library Bears!

Little Free Library Project and Locations

And of course, please contact us!